KPD Warns Fans to Not Storm the Field at Neyland

Communications Director

Eric Vreeland
evreeland@knoxvilletn.gov
(865) 215-3480

400 Main St., Room 654A
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email

KPD Warns Fans to Not Storm the Field at Neyland

Posted: 09/13/2012
The entire UT nation is excited in anticipation of this weekend's game between the University of Tennessee and the University of Florida.

Unfortunately, since 2004 was the last time the Tennessee Vols beat the Florida Gators at Neyland Stadium, numerous fans are already planning to storm the field in the event of a Tennessee win on Saturday, Sept. 15.

The Knoxville Police Department (KPD) wants to remind those attending the UT/Florida game that anyone entering the field will be immediately arrested and charged with "Aggravated Criminal Trespassing."

Anyone caught enticing someone else to enter the field will be arrested and charged with "Inciting a Riot."

In addition, the names of any students arrested will be shared with appropriate University officials.

Fans attending the game will see a noticeable increase in the number of officers due to the sold-out crowd. These measures are being put in place to ensure the safety of all visitors and to help promote an enjoyable time for all fans.

To help fans celebrate with the team, university officials will bring the players to the fans for the celebration in the event UT wins.

Additionally, the Southeastern Conference (SEC) can also fine the University due to spectators storming the field because of violations of the "Access to Competition Area Policy."

SEC'S ACCESS TO COMPETITION AREA POLICY

The policy, which went into effect on Dec. 1, 2004, states the following: "access to competition areas shall be limited to participating student-athletes, coaches, officials, support personnel and properly-credentialed individuals at all times. For the safety of participants and spectators alike, at no time before, during or after a contest shall spectators be permitted to enter the competition area. It is the responsibility of each member institution to implement procedures to ensure compliance with this policy."

Violation of this policy imposes financial penalties at the discretion of the Commissioner. Penalties range from $5,000 for a first offense to fines of up to $25,000 for a second offense and up to $50,000 for a third and subsequent offenses.