City, County recognize community leaders at Volunteer Awards Ceremony

Communications Director

Kristin Farley
(865) 215-2589

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email

City, County recognize community leaders at Volunteer Awards Ceremony

Posted: 09/18/2013
The Parks and Recreation departments for the City of Knoxville and Knox County held a Volunteer Awards Ceremony this morning to recognize those individuals who strive to make a difference in our community through recreation. The ceremony was followed by a luncheon sponsored by Dick's Sporting Goods.

Knoxville Mayor Madeline Rogero and Knox County Mayor Tim Burchett presented the awards to each of the 25 winners who were nominated by their peers for the exemplary volunteer commitment they have demonstrated in our community.

"I consider it an honor to recognize our local volunteers who invest their personal time and resources in service to our community," said Mayor Rogero. "They do this simply because they care."

"Each of these outstanding volunteers deserves recognition for the time and energy they put in to making our community a better place to live," said Mayor Burchett. "I appreciate all they do and thank them for their service to Knox County."

The 25 award winners range from sports commissioners and coaches to youth recreation leaders and senior center volunteers. Please see the next page for a complete list of winners.

For more information contact Jennifer Linginfelter at (865) 215-4579 or Kathleen Gibi at (865) 215-2091.

2013 Parks & Recreation Volunteer Award Winners:

Commissioner Award - Larry Cox
Commissioner Award - Bob Dixon
Commissioner Award - Michael & Christi Hendrickson
Commissioner Award - Robert Hewgley
Commissioner Award - Marion "Bud" Nolan
Coach Award - William Anderson
Coach Award - Lonnie Cornelius
Coach Award - Brad Day
Coach Award - Justin Foster
Coach Award - Jeff Kincaid
Coach Award - Jason Nance
Coach Award - Matt Peters
Coach Award - Mike Vineyard
Advocacy Award - Jeff Gamey
Advocacy Award - Renee Hoyos
Advocacy Award - Jim Kimble
Advocacy Award - Blake McCoy
Rising Star Award - Cora Bradley
Rising Star Award - Leila Hennon
Senior Center Award - Larry & Marty Acuff
Senior Center Award - Homer & Lucille Rayburn
Community Center Award - Jo A. Madden
Adopt a Park Award - Felicia Hoehne
Adopt a Park Award - Sammy Shaffer
Past Board Chair Award - Dr. Steven Waller