Transportation Secretary Foxx to Visit Alcoa Highway Corridor and Talk about Federal Funding Early Next Week

Communications Director

Kristin Farley
(865) 215-2589

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
News item

Transportation Secretary Foxx to Visit Alcoa Highway Corridor and Talk about Federal Funding Early Next Week

Posted: 05/07/2015
U.S. Secretary of Transportation Anthony Foxx will be in Knoxville on Tuesday morning, May 12, to talk to local officials about federal transportation funding and proposed improvements to Alcoa Highway.

City of Knoxville Mayor Madeline Rogero and members of the Knoxville Regional Transportation Planning Organization's Executive Board and Technical Committee will welcome Secretary Foxx at 8:30 a.m. in the Small Assembly Room of the City County Building in downtown Knoxville.

Foxx will speak to the group about the importance of keeping America's cities moving, specifically addressing the need for a long-term federal transportation bill from Congress so that transportation projects will not continue to be delayed.

The Secretary will hear an update on the importance of the Alcoa Highway reconstruction project and how lack of funding has delayed it over the past year. Secretary Foxx will later briefly address the Mayors' Leadership Luncheon, sponsored by Leadership Knoxville, which begins at 11:30 a.m. at the Knoxville Convention Center.

The Knoxville TPO is comprised of elected representatives and transportation professionals from city and county jurisdictions in Knox, Anderson, Blount, Loudon, and Sevier counties, responsible for transportation planning for the Knoxville urban area.

Knoxville Regional Transportation Planning Organization
The Knoxville Regional Transportation Planning Organization (TPO) coordinates a comprehensive, multimodal transportation planning process for the Knoxville Urban Area. Member jurisdictions include Knox County and the urbanized areas of Anderson, Blount, Loudon and Sevier Counties and includes the following cities: Alcoa, Clinton, Knoxville, Lenoir City, Loudon, Maryville and Oak Ridge, the Town of Farragut, Tennessee Department of Transportation and East Tennessee Development District. For more information, visit