• Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
Knoxville Police Department promotes 15 officers on February 17th ceremony  
2020 KPD promotions

The Knoxville Police Department officially announced the promotion of 15 officers during a ceremony on Monday, February 17 at Civic Coliseum. In the largest promotional ceremony for the KPD since 21 were promoted in 2016, seven officers were risen to the rank of Sergeant, six Sergeants to the rank of Lieutenant and two Lieutenants to the rank of Captain. 

The promotional ceremony was held at the conclusion of the Supervisory Leadership School, which wrapped up on Friday, February 14 at the Phil E. Keith Training Academy. The newly-promoted Sergeants will undergo an additional two weeks of field training prior to being assigned to their new squads. 

2020 KPD promotions

The following officers were promoted: 

Promoted to Sergeant: 
Rachel Britt 
Michael Cooper 
Michael Dabbelt 
Matt Gentry
Michael Rupe
Michael Tucker 
Donald Zerillo 

Promoted to Lieutenant:
James Burrell 
Jonathan Chadwell 
Michael Fowler 
Caryn Heitz 
Josh Shaffer 
Will Wilson 

Promoted to Captain: 
Susan Coker 
Brian Evans 

Captain Brian Evans assumed command of the West District under Deputy Chief Kenny Miller in the Patrol Division, effective on Sunday, February 16 at 12 a.m., while Captain David Powell became the Executive Officer under Deputy Chief Ron Green in Management Services. No other assignments have been finalized for the newly-promoted officers and an announcement regarding those assignments is forthcoming upon completion.

Click here to view more photos from the promotion ceremony.

Posted by serland On 18 February, 2020 at 10:48 AM