• Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
KAT Employees Take Home Awards at State Competition 
KAT award winners
Knoxville Area Transit employees were honored at the City Council meeting on Nov. 24, 2015. From left: Wendell Mobley, Greg Davis, Dean Pruitt, Transit Director Dawn Distler, Chad Crabtree, Chris Click and Mike McAmis.

At Tuesday night's City Council meeting, Mayor Madeline Rogero recognized six Knoxville Area Transit employees for their showing in the annual state transit competition last month in Chattanooga.

KAT Bus Operator Dean Pruitt won first place in the 35-foot bus competition and will go on to represent both KAT and the State of Tennessee at the national competition in Charlotte, North Carolina next May.

Greg Davis won first place in the 40-foot bus competition, Wendell Mobley took second place in the van division, and Mechanic Chris Click took second place in the bus maintenance division. Also, Chad Crabtree took 5th place in the van maintenance division.

Dean, Greg and Wendell all defending their first place titles from last year’s competition, so they are repeat winners!

And a real honor: Longtime KAT Mechanic Mike McAmis won the State Urban Employee of the Year Award.

McAmis started his career as a Service Person at KAT in March 1974. Throughout the years, countless mechanics, bus manufacturers, engine manufacturers, show car and motorcycle enthusiasts have frequently drawn upon his knowledge and expertise.  

The competitions were part of the annual Tennessee Public Transportation Association Conference which took place in Chattanooga at the end of October and included over 40 competitors from across the state.
Congratulations to all!

Posted by On 25 November, 2015 at 10:33 AM