Deferred Compensation Committee

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Google+
  • Share via Email
The responsibilities and makeup of the Deferred Compensation Committee are specified in the City of Knoxville Deferred Compensation Plan, which was approved by the Knoxville City Council. There are seven members of the Committee, three standing members from the Employee Benefits Office, the Law Department and the Pension Board and four members serving staggered terms: one from the Police Department, one from the Fire Department and two from general government. The Mayor appoints the four members who serve staggered terms. 

The Committee meets quarterly and is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the deferred compensation plan, including the investment options offered within the plan. 

The Committee is advised by Raymond James under a contract approved by City Council. Raymond James is paid by Prudential from the plan assets. Joe Thompson, Managing Director, is the consultant assigned by Raymond James. Joe Thompson's telephone number is 865-777-5849.


Pension Board Executive Director
Kristi Paczkowski
Standing Appointment

Law Department Representative
Lisa Hatfield
Standing Appointment

Employee Benefits Representative
Christine Stickler Fitzgerald
Standing Appointment

Police Department Employee Representative
Monty Houk
Term: 01/01/2016 - 12/31/2018

Fire Department Employee Representative
Christopher Karnes
Term: 04/13/2015 - 12/31/2017

Non-uniformed Employee Representative
Jenny Stuart
Term: 01/01/2015 - 12/31/2016

Non-uniformed Employee Representative
Kittrin Smith
Term: 01/01/2015 - 12/31/2017

Katie Tanner