• Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Google+
  • Share via Email
The Civil Service Department is the employment office for the City of Knoxville. The City Charter establishes a merit system that assures personnel actions are made on the basis of merit and fitness without regard to any political test, affiliation or the like. The merit system provides for the equitable treatment of city employees and provides a work force that is properly trained to deliver the city's essential public services. 

How to Apply for a Job Current Job Openings
• How to Apply for a Job
• How to Check the Status of Your Application
• Applying for Police Officer
• Applying for Firefighter
• View Current City Job Openings
• Employment Information for Knox County
Login to the Career Center Working for the City
• Register and Set Up a Profile
• Manage Your Account
• Non City Employees
• Current City Employees
• Applicant User Manual [PDF]
• Benefits
• State of Tennessee Employment Information
• Civil Service Department
• Frequently Asked Questions
CIVIL SERVICE DEPARTMENT
City County Building
400 Main Street, Suite 569
Knoxville, TN 37902
Main Office: 865-215-2106
TDD: 865-215-2900
Job Line: 865-215-2562
Fax: 865-215-4270 

OFFICE HOURS
Monday through Friday
8:00 am until 4:30 pm 

Vicki Hatfield, Civil Service Director
vhatfield@knoxvilletn.gov

Matt Bradburn, Civil Service Deputy Director

Hiring and employee issues for Administration, City Council, Law Department, Police Department, Public Service, Public Assemblies, and Emergency Management.
mbradburn@knoxvilletn.gov

Melissa Foster, HR Analyst, Senior
Hiring and employee issues for the Fire Department, Finance and Accountability, Risk Management, Benefits, Community Development, Plans Review and Inspections, Engineering, Municipal Court, Information Systems, Parks and Recreation, Fleet, and 311.
mbfoster@knoxvilletn.gov

Michelle Black, Executive Assistant

Information and questions about Civil Service Hearings, Civil Service and Administrative Rules and Regulations, and Civil Service forms.
mblack@knoxvilletn.gov

Carol Mahler, HR Office Manager
Information and questions about general application information and general leave issues.
cmahler@knoxvilletn.gov

Zephyree Porter, HR Technician, Sr.
Information and questions about requisitions, drug and alcohol testing, or new employee processing.
zporter@knoxvilletn.gov

Linda Copeland, HR Technician, Sr.

Information and questions about the Eligibility Register and scheduled tests.
lcopeland@knoxvilletn.gov

Linda Pardue, HR Technician, Sr.
Information and questions about upcoming training and performance appraisals.
lpardue@knoxvilletn.gov

Kent Johnson, HR Technician, Sr.
Information and questions about new hire orientation and tuition reimbursements.
kxjohnson@knoxvilletn.gov

Helen Broyles, HR Technician, Sr.
Information and questions about current job openings, application information, or general information.
hbroyles@knoxvilletn.gov