Election Information


Madeline Rogero
(865) 215-2040

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Google+
  • Share via Email
City Council Districts MapCity voters will elect five new members to the nine-member Knoxville City Council in 2017. Candidates will be running for open seats in the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 6th Districts.

Because all five current Council members representing those districts are term-limited and cannot run for re-election, that means that a majority of the next City Council will be new first-time Council members.

The open seats and current office holders are:

1st District - Nick Pavlis
2nd District - Duane Grieve
3rd District - Brenda Palmer
4th District - Nick Della Volpe
6th District - Daniel Brown

These candidates seeking to run in the Aug. 29 primary have filed their nominating petitions with the Election Commission:


Debbie Helsley

Greg Knox
Website: www.knox.vote
Facebook: www.facebook.com/KnoxVote

Rebecca Parr
Website: www.voterebeccaparr.com

Stephanie Welch
Website: www.Vote4Welch.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/SWelch1st
Twitter: @SWelch1st

Andrew Wilson
Facebook: www.facebook.com/Wilson4knoxdistrict1
Website: www.wilsonforknoxville.com


Brandon Bruce

Website: www.BrandonBruce.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/BrandonBruceKnoxville
Twitter: @Brandon_Bruce

Wayne Christensen

Andrew Roberto

Website: http://AndrewJRoberto.com/
Facebook: www.facebook.com/ElectRoberto

David Williams
Facebook: www.facebook.com/David-Williams-for-Knoxville-City-Council-1127891340573653


James Edward Corcoran
Website: www.CorcoranForCouncil.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/JamesCorcoranForKnox 

De'Ossie Deon Dingus, Sr.

Jody Mullins

Seema Singh Perez
Facebook: www.facebook.com/Seema3rdDistrict


Dan Davis

Jack Knoxville
Website: www.jackknoxville.com

Amelia (Amy) Parker

Lauren Rider
Website: www.VoteLaurenRider.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/VoteLaurenRider

Harry Tindell


Joyce Brown
Facebook: www.facebook.com/JoyceBrownCC

John A. Butler

Maurice L. Clark, Sr.

Michael Covington

Facebook: www.facebook.com/ElectCovington

Charles Frazier

David Gillette

Facebook: www.facebook.com/6District4Gillette
Facebook: www.facebook.com/DGillette33

Zimbabwe U. Matavou

Gwen McKenzie
Website: www.votegwenmckenzie.com

Jennifer Montgomery
Website: www.VoteJMO.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/Jennifer-Montgomery-for-City-Council-District-No-6-800508380117550

Damon Rawls
Website: www.ElectDamon.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/ElectDamonRawls 

Kennie Riffey

Shawnee Rios

Facebook: www.facebook.com/VoteShawnee

Brandy Slaybaugh
Facebook: www.facebook.com/BrandySlaybaugh

Other City Council seats:

Candidates for the 5th District and the three at-large Council seats run in a different election cycle - with the Mayor and City Judge - so those elections do not come up for another two years. Mayor Madeline Rogero, 5th District Council member Mark Campen, At-Large Council members George Wallace, Marshall Stair and Finbarr Saunders, and City Judge John R. Rosson Jr. were elected to four-year terms in 2015.

To be eligible to run for a specific district seat, a candidate must reside in that district. The at-large Council members can reside anywhere in the city.

Candidates running for a district seat square off in a primary election in which residents of the district are eligible to vote. The top two vote-getters run citywide in the November general election.

All City races are non-partisan.

See a map of the City Council districts. Learn more about City Council in general, or get to know better your elected officials, including Mayor Rogero.

Here is a partial schedule for the 2017 election:

Feb. 17  - First day for candidates to pick up a nominating petition
May 18 - Qualifying deadline - candidates' last day to turn in nominating petitions
July 31 - Final day to register to vote before primary election
Aug. 9 - Early voting begins
Aug. 29 - Primary Election
Oct. 9 - Final day to register to vote before general election
Oct. 18 - Early voting begins
Nov. 7 - General Election

Click here to view the full election schedule