• Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
Residents Engage in Local Government 
There are many ways that members of the community can engage in local government, the most simple being to participate in local elections as a voter. The City supports engagement in local elections by providing information on the City of Knoxville's website under Go Vote!

In addition, residents are invited to attend City Council meetings and other public meetings to provide input for studies, capital projects and more. Mayor Rogero has made it a priority during her term to gather public input for City government projects. The City promotes public meetings through social media, the Mayor's weekly newsletter, and on the City's online events calendar

Census 2020

The Mayor also appoints members of the community to serve on various community boards, commissions and committees. Individuals interested in serving by appointment can find a full listing of organizations on the City's website under Boards and Commissions.

Chapman Hwy

Since the beginning of 2019, 64 individuals have been appointed by Mayor Rogero for new terms. These appointees include business professionals, community advocates and leaders, City employees and more. The following is a list of 2019 appointees, to date, by organization:

Animal Control Board

Heidi Wyrosdick

Better Building Board
Kati Sanford Goodner

Board of Zoning Appeals
Daniel Odle

Community Television
Avice Reid
Jim Idol

City Tree Board
Nicholas St. Sauveur
Nick Bridgeman
Robert Graves

Deferred Compensation Committee
Kenny Miller

Diversity Business Advisory Committee
Tiki Dixon
Mark Isom
Steve Stilts
Cassandra Stuart
Nikitia Thompson

Downtown Design Review Board
Josh Wright
Lisa Skinner  
Joey Natour

Employee Benefits Advisory Committee
Helen Broyles
Valerie Coleman
Jeannine Hager
Lisa Hatfield
Greg Taylor

Food Policy Council
Victoria Raschke

Greenways Commission
Mike Bensey
Alice Allen
Grant Barton
Mike Moore
Ann Barber
Ellen Zavisca

Industrial Development Board
John Craig
Tolly Harris
Patrick Wolf

Ijams Nature Center Board
George Wallace

Knoxville Transportation Authority
Douglas Lawyer
Jim Richards

Knoxville-Knox County Planning Commission
Gayle Bustin
Pat Phillips  
Tim Hill

Knoxville’s Community Development Corporation
John Winemiller

Knox County Solid Waste Board
Jay Price

Knoxville Utilities Board
Celeste Herbert

Mayor’s Council on Disability Issues
Burke Brewer
Josh Loebner
Conya Mull
Rebecca Parr
Larry Rodgers
Melissa Van Dyke

Metropolitan Knoxville Airport Authority
Ursula Bailey

Neighborhood Advisory Council
Gayle Atherton
Rob Glass
Molly Conaway
André Canty

Police Advisory and Review Committee
Leticia Flores
Frank Shanklin, Jr.
LaKenya Middlebrook

Public Arts Committee
Kim Bumpas
Susana Esrequis
John Powers
Gwen McKenzie
Caroline Covington
Tanisha Baker
Bart Watkins

Zoo Knoxville Board
Jim York

Posted by fmcanally On 21 June, 2019 at 2:55 PM