Bredesen Appoints Mayor To State Board

Communications Director

Kristin Farley
(865) 215-2589

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email

Bredesen Appoints Mayor To State Board

Posted: 09/22/2008
Gov. Phil Bredesen announced his appointment of City of Knoxville Mayor Bill Haslam to the board of directors of the Tennessee Technology Development Corporation (TTDC). Mayor Haslam succeeded Tennessee Municipal League (TML) Executive Director Margaret Mahery, whose term expired June 30. 

Gov. Bredesen named appointments to 26 other state boards and commissions as well. 

“The state of Tennessee is very fortunate to have citizens like these 44 men and women who are willing to serve the state through its boards and commissions,” Bredesen said. “They will be valuable additions to the respective boards they have been appointed to represent, and I appreciate their commitment and willingness to serve.” 

Appointment terms vary based on statutory recommendations or term limits specified by geographic or other qualifications. 

The appointments are as follows:

Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities
Charles E. “Chip” Fair, Manchester
Pamela A. Hudson, Chattanooga
Catherine Mayes Knowles, Nashville
Sharmila J. Patel, Franklin
Cynthia L. “Cindy” Storey, Chattanooga 

Advisory Council on Worker’s Compensation
Stephen E. Johnson, Hixson 

Air Pollution Control Board
Larry Waters, Gatlinburg 

Board of Respiratory Care
Teresa Dudley Hatcher, Lebanon 

Board of Social Worker Licensure 
Pamela P. Sams, Watauga 

Building Finance Committee
Scot Braun, Knoxville 

Council on Children’s Mental Healthcare
Jennifer L. Houston, Hermitage 

Committee for Clinical Perfusionists
Alice B. Walker, Nashville 

Elevator and Amusement Device Safety Board
R. Perry Burch, Nashville
Jane Dawkins, South Pittsburg
Robbie Fox, Sevierville
David Hale, Lebanon
Webb Morris, Goodlettsville 

Energy Efficient Schools Council
Carolyn P. Bowers, Clarksville
Les Winningham, Huntsville 

Interagency Coordinating Council
Wanda Willis, Nashville 

Joint Committee to Study the Financial Health of Tennessee’s Transportation Funding System
J.B. Baker, Madison
Ken Hays, Chattanooga
Dexter Muller, Memphis 

Keep Tennessee Beautiful Advisory Council
George Jones, Memphis 

Post-Conviction Defender Commission
Ursula Bailey, Knoxville
Lynn T. Tarpy, Knoxville 

Sam Davis Memorial Association Board of Trustees
Shirley Davis, Franklin 

State Board of Cosmetology
Howard D. Adcock, Nashville
Linda Colley, Columbia
Judy B. Golden, Johnson City 

State Board of Electrolysis Examiners
John Q. Binhlam, Brentwood
Jewel Dedmon, Nashville 

State Textbook Commission
Sandra J. Hodge, Jackson 

Tennessee Athletic Commission
Teri Mast, Nolensville 

Tennessee Auctioneer Commission
Kenneth C. Dreaden, Waverly 

Tennessee Community Services Agency Board of Directors
Timothy A. Armstrong, Linden
Linda Buck, Rogersville 

Tennessee Economic Council on Women
Tommie Morton-Young, Nashville 

Tennessee Lottery Corporation Board of Directors
Keith B. Simmons, Nashville 

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
Joe Prebul, Chattanooga
Eddie Roberts, Lewisburg 

Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame Board of Directors
Rita Sparks, Memphis 

Tennessee Technology Development Corporation
Bill Haslam, Knoxville

University of Tennessee Board of Trustees
Karl A. Schledwitz, Memphis