City Seeks Nominations for Good Neighbor Award

Communications Director

Kristin Farley
(865) 215-2589

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
News item

City Seeks Nominations for Good Neighbor Award

Posted: 12/13/2016
The City of Knoxville is looking for a few good neighbors. 

Good neighbors not only mow their yards and keep their animals in line. They also welcome new neighbors, watch out for others, help their disabled or elderly neighbors, attend neighborhood meetings, pitch in when needed and generally look out for their neighbors’ safety and quality of life. 

If you know someone who fits this description, nominate him or her for the Diana Conn Good Neighbor of the Year Award. 

“The kind of neighbors we’re looking for go above and beyond the call of being neighborly,” says Neighborhood Coordinator David Massey.

David Gillette with Mayor RogeroLast year’s winner, Mechanicsville native David Gillette, was honored for his significant roles in organizing the Mechanicsville Homecoming parade and establishing a neighborhood entrance sign. Additionally, he helped a neighbor care for her ill husband and sister, and then, after their deaths, took her into his own home so she wouldn’t be alone.

The award was named for the late Diana Conn, a beloved member of South Knoxville’s Old Sevier Community Group; she died Sept. 11, 2012, and was presented the inaugural award at the 2013 Neighborhood Conference. 

A committee of the Mayor’s Neighborhood Advisory Council will select the winner, who, along with other finalists, will be recognized at the 2017 Neighborhood Conference on Saturday, March 11, 2017, at the Knoxville Convention Center.

To learn more and download a nomination form, visit and click on Good Neighbor of the Year Award.

Nominations should be sent by Tuesday, Jan. 17, to Debbie Sharp by email to or by mail to Office of Neighborhoods, City of Knoxville, P.O. Box 1631, Knoxville, TN 37901. Or call Debbie at 865-215-4382 to receive a hard copy of the form in the mail.

Nominees for Good Neighbor
Mayor Madeline Rogero poses with David Gillette, winner of the 2016 Good Neighbor of the Year Award, along with other finalists, at the Neighborhood Awards Luncheon last March. From left: Patrick McInturff, Monte Stanley, Kirk Anderson, Nancy Smith, Mayor Rogero, Stuart Hall, David Gillette, Brian Douglas, Debra Douglas, Calvin Chappelle, Jewell Garren and Lloyd King.