Good Neighbor of the Year Award to be Announced Saturday

Communications Director

Kristin Farley
(865) 215-2589

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email

Good Neighbor of the Year Award to be Announced Saturday

Posted: 03/03/2014
March 3, 2014 - Seven Knoxville neighborhood residents will be honored as finalists for the Diana Conn Good Neighbor of the Year Award at the City of Knoxville's Neighborhood Awards and Networking Luncheon on Saturday, March 8, at the Convention Center.

The seven were nominated by their neighbors in response to a call from the Office of Neighborhoods in early January. All will be honored, but only one will receive the Neighbor of the Year Award.

The award, named for the late Diana Conn of the Old Sevier Community, is presented annually to a Knoxville resident who - in a spirit of cooperation and with commitment to inclusive community - has devoted time and talent in service to his or her neighbors and neighborhood.

The finalists are:

Calvin Chappelle, Parkridge Community Organization
Kathy Hitchcox, South Woodlawn Neighborhood Association
Travetta Johnson, Parkridge Community Organization
Betty Jo Mahan
, Inskip Community Association (Asociación de la Comunidad de Inskip)
Bruce and Tracy Martin, Delrose Drive Neighborhood Watch
Gerry Moll, Fourth and Gill, The Bird House

Attend Saturday's luncheon to find out why these seven individuals were considered by their peers to be outstanding neighbors - and to applaud whoever is named the Diana Conn Good Neighbor of the Year.

Saturday's Neighborhood Awards and Networking Luncheon starts with a 10 a.m. reception, followed by an 11 a.m. small group discussion of low-cost and no-cost ways to jazz up a neighborhood and create a sense of community. The luncheon and award program begin at 12:15 p.m.

The event is a unique opportunity to connect with elected officials, members of City Council, City staff and other neighborhood leaders.

In addition, six neighborhood groups will receive achievement awards:

Alice Bell Spring Hill Neighborhood Association, for its creativity in negotiating ways to better incorporate a cell phone tower into the neighborhood

Lakemoor Hills Homeowners Association
, which worked to better utilize modern technology to protect the neighborhood against crime

Lyons View Community Club, which created key partnerships to upgrade its community center and playground and increased involvement by neighbors in the organization

Parkridge Community Organization, for its support of a butterfly garden, revival of a tour of historic homes, hosting of a street fair and transformation of a freeway underpass into an inviting work of art

South Woodlawn Neighborhood Association, for its work creating an outdoor classroom, gaining certification as a community wildlife habitat and starting a program to honor police, fire, postal and other service workers

Western Heights Residents Association, which is taking steps to build community pride and is prepared to "take back the neighborhood"

Mayor Madeline Rogero will preside over the presentation of the awards. Entertainment will be provided by the Mount Olive Music Academy and spoken word artist Black Atticus.

Register by 8 a.m. Wednesday, March 5, to receive a free box lunch. After that deadline, citizens may still register, but a box lunch is not guaranteed.

Visit the Office of Neighborhoods for information on how to register online. Or call Tina Belge at 865-215-3077 to have a hard copy of the form mailed to you.

Look for free parking at the Poplar Street Parking Lot and Locust Street Garage.