Knoxville Regional Transportation Planning Organization (TPO)

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email
Jeff Welch, TPO Director
400 Main Street Suite 403
Knoxville, TN 37902

The Knoxville Regional Transportation Planning Organization (TPO) provides comprehensive transportation planning in Knox County and the urbanized areas of Anderson, Blount, Loudon and Sevier Counties. The US Department of Transportation requires urban areas with populations of 50,000 or more to form a Transportation Planning Organization.

  • Ensures cooperative, comprehensive and continuing transportation planning
  • Reviews and approves Transportation Plans and Programs
  • Implements provisions of current Federal Transportation legislation
  • Apportions Surface Transportation Program funds and certain federal transit funds
  • Sets policy and provides administrative oversight


TPO Executive Board members are elected officials from the Cities of Alcoa, Clinton, Knoxville, Lenoir City, Loudon, Maryville and Oak Ridge, the Town of Farragut and Anderson, Blount, Knox, Loudon and Sevier Counties, the East Tennessee Development District, the State of Tennessee and a representative from the public transit community.


The TPO Executive Board meets on the the fourth Wednesday of each month at 9 a.m. in the Small Assembly Room of the City County Building. Meeting locations are subject to change.


Anderson County - Terry Frank, Mayor
Blount County - Ed Mitchell, Mayor
City of Alcoa - Don Mull, Mayor
City of Clinton - Scott Burton, Mayor
City of Knoxville - Madeline Rogero, Mayor 
City of Knoxville - Finbarr Saunders, City Council
City of Loudon - Jim Greenway, Mayor 
City of Maryville - Tom Taylor, Mayor 
East TN Development District - Ed Shouse, Knox County Trustee 
Federal Highway Administration - Sean Santalla
Federal Transit Administration - Andres Ramirez
Knox County - Glenn Jacobs, County Mayor 
Knox County - Randy Smith, Knox County Commission
Loudon County - Rollen Buddy Bradshaw II, County Mayor
Lenoir City - Tony Aikens, Mayor
Oak Ridge - Warren L. Gooch, Mayor 
Public Transportation - Dawn Distler, KAT Director
Sevier County - Larry Waters, Mayor
State of Tennessee for the Governor - Troy Ebbert, TDOT Region 1
Tennessee County Highway Officials Association - Harold Pitner
Town of Farragut - Ron Williams, Mayor

Click here to view current board membership and to check for opportunities to serve on this board.