Mayors Meet with Youth Action Council

Communications Director

Kristin Farley
(865) 215-2589

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email

Mayors Meet with Youth Action Council

Posted: 04/07/2008
Mayor Bill Haslam and County Mayor Mike Ragsdale met with the 2007-08 members of the Youth Action Council to discuss their current projects and plans for the future.

The Youth Action Council (YAC) is a partnership between the Metropolitan Drug Commission, the Knox County Mayor’s Office and the City of Knoxville Mayor’s Office. The Knoxville/Knox County Mayors’ Youth Action Council—A voice for Youth provides a respresentative body of teens charged with ensuring that the opinions and concers of their peers are voiced and that youth have opportunities for community engagement.

2007-2008 Members:

LaQuisha Carter, Fulton
Aaquil Rowans, Gibbs
Mica Clark, Webb
Brittney Ramsey, Fulton
Martha Myers, West
Jerica Johnson, Austin East
Caroline Neal, Karns
Katie Erpenbach, Catholic
Meredith Whitfield, West
Vanessa Garber, West
Aftyn Behn, Webb
Lauren Loy, CAK
Carol Ann Routh, Central
Carrie Cox, West
Rachael Dehart, Central
Beth White, Central
Andrew Bosse, Catholic
Maddie Brown, South Doyle
Max Waibel, Farragut
Chris Holloway, Carter
Travis Haston, Bearden
Devin Harvey, Powell
Maddie Cave, Bearden
Christian Flack, Home school

Some of the projects of the 2007-2008 Youth Action Council include:

Directing the 2008 Knoxville Youth Summit to engage teenagers from across Knox County in community problem solving and volunteer efforts.

Facilitating student fundraising campaigns in conjunction with United Way of Greater Knoxville to help address community needs through charitable organizations.

Proposing the creation of a student representative position on the Knox County Board of Education.

Researching the concept of a Youth Court to provide a peer review system for minors committing first-time, non-violent offenses.