Knoxville Police Department Graduates New Recruit Class

Communications Director

Kristin Farley
(865) 215-2589

400 Main St., Room 691
Knoxville, TN 37902

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share via Email

Knoxville Police Department Graduates New Recruit Class

Posted: 07/11/2014
July 11, 2014 - The Knoxville Police Department held a special graduation ceremony for its 2014-A Basic Recruit Class Thursday, July 10 in the Knoxville Civic Auditorium.

The 31 recruits just finished 26 weeks of specialized training. This graduating class is the City's first since 2011, and it brings KPD close to its full complement of 416 sworn officers.

Mayor Madeline Rogero and Senator Becky Duncan Massey spoke at the event.

Recruits that were sworn in by Judge John Rosson are as follows:

Ryan P. Ayers
Jonathan D. Book
Rachel L. Britt
Christopher G. Burke
Caleb T. Burrell
Darren C. Carden
Joshua D. Compton
Raiques L. Crump
William K. Dorwart
James B. Erskine
Garrett L. Fontanez
Brayden A. Hanson
Kenneth M. Harrell
Jordan G. Henderson
Andrew L. Huddleston
Dannielle L. Ivey
DionDre I. Jackson
Sarah E. Maclin
Grant J. Marshall
Brian I. Mason
Vanessa C.A. Mayes
Rocky A. McCulloch
Adam W. Pierson
Charles T. Roach
Jacob G. Schettler
Hunter R. Snoderly
Michael B. Traylor
Tyler C. Wiggins
Christopher R. Williams
Dylan M. Williams
Chelsea D. Wright

James B. Erskine received the Top Gun Award and the Valedictorian Award for the Recruit Class. Erskine was also presented a $5,000 scholarship from Bethel University by David Hopkins, J.D.

Officer Christopher G. Burke received the Top Driver Award for the Recruit Class.

Officer Kenneth M. Harrell received the Leadership Award for the Recruit Class.